it’s not that i…

don’t like you people, it’s that i’ve been busy.

with what?

oh – having surgery, physical therapy, all that fun kind of stuff.

see, just a couple days after my last post, i managed to break my left wrist in a freakish manner (like i do everything, these days).

you know it’s a bad sign when the orthopaedist goes to look at your x-ray films, then comes back and states, “This is strange.”

gee, thanks, doc.

so i spent a week of going to the doctor, getting irradiated (conventional x-rays and CT scans), all leading up to surgery to reassemble my wrist (a week to the day from the accident that broke it).

note: nerve blocks? not the funnest thing in the world.

so, for the past eight weeks, i’ve been in either a drug-induced haze, pain-induced haze, or just general haze. sometimes all three at once.

but (aside from the sometimes awful post-therapy pain), i’m getting back into the swing of things.

hope to see more of y’all soon.

quote of the day:

“My doctor is nice; every time I see him, I’m ashamed of what I think of doctors in general.” – Mignon McLaughlin, The Second Neurotic’s Notebook

2 Responses to “it’s not that i…”

  1. John Butler Says:

    Damn, that sucks. I severed my ulnar nerve several years ago in what would also be described as a freakish accident. The first set of pain meds they gave me–Mepergan Fortis–was aswesome. But then they bumped it down to hydrocodone. All of the haze with none of the levitation and none of the everything-is-hilarious. I see how people get addicted to that stuff. I certainly would have if they offered refills.

    I had to do PT for several weeks afterward. The pain eventually left, but I still have numbness over a large surface of my dominant hand. Luckily it was a sensor nerve and not a motor nerve.

    I drink to your speedy recovery!

  2. Addison Ingle Says:

    Will this affect your ability to work on your car(s)? Has the mac been retired? The ability to do both of those things would indicate a successful recovery. I hope you recover soon……….

Leave a Reply

